1 Comment

Getting Organized, Part 4

beliefLast week, I introduced my new system for getting organized. Now, I didn’t invent it, it’s just new to me. In an effort to get the different areas of my life organized, I’ve adopted the binder system for keeping track of home management, homeschool, and work.

My home management binder has been a great asset. The cleaning calendar helps my family stay on track. The rest of the tabs help me to stay organized. I’m still working on tweaking it to meet our needs.

Now, I’m excited to share my work binder with you. Everything I need to stay on top of writing and editing in one little binder. Granted, that “little” binder has 8 tabs, but still . . . I can already tell it’s going to work for me.

In the front of the binder, I have a “Week at a Glance” page, which lists Monday thru Sunday, with space to write under each of them. This way I can see what blog posts are coming up, how I need to spread out my editing, etc.

Here are the 8 tabs:

1. Monthly: I have a monthly calendar so I can schedule posts, editing, etc. ahead of time. I can see where my obligations lie, which days are busiest, and pencil in ideas.

2. ACFW: A place to keep track of everything related to my Zone Director duties and my Genesis Coordinator duties. I have a to-do list, zone director handbook, Genesis notes.

3. Website: I can use this tab to catch ideas for my own website/blog–changes I want to make, ideas for posts, etc.

4. MYB/GYHS: I write monthly articles for Managing Your Blessings, and weekly blog posts for Growing Your Homeschool, so I have this tab for keeping track of schedules, article ideas, and drafting first drafts.

5. NAF: Same as #4, but for New Authors Fellowship. Wait–that’s where we are!

6. Social Media: I am a social media consultant/developer for a couple different companies. Here, I can keep track of things ideas, upcoming events, or plan giveaways/contests, etc. Each company gets a general information page, an events page, and a to-do list.

7. Editing: This tab holds the schedule of clients, notes on current projects, and ideas for networking and promoting my business.

8. Writing: Finally, a place for my fiction writing! I keep a running to-do list, notes for changes in current WIPs, ideas for future stories, and anything else that’s needed.

And in the back, I have a ream of notebook paper.

To use these notebooks (all of them), I have to go through them on a monthly basis to make sure they are still useful and effective, and to make any changes necessary to the overall layout/form of the notebook. On a weekly basis, I have to through each tab (especially for the homeschool and work binders) to schedule out my week and make sure that I’m not forgetting anything. And then, daily, I need to pull out the binders and consider/reflect on the current day’s schedule, as well as the rest of the week’s. This way, I know where I’m at and what’s coming up.

Individually, I love being a wife and mom, homeschooling, and running my own freelance business (and working on my own novels). Together, they can quickly overrun my life with chaos–things fall by the wayside or get completely forgotten, I suffer, my family suffers. It can be too much for any one person. But with some prayer and organization, I can stay on top of all the craziness instead of letting it control me. I can enjoy the blessings in my life instead of being overwhelmed and stressed all the time. 

About Ralene Burke

Born this side of a miracle, Ralene Burke grew up with a love for the supernatural side of God. Her passion spills over into her writing as she spins fast-paced tales of angels, demons, and the broader calling of every human being. A place where the light pierces the darkness... Outside of the fiction world, she is a homeschooling mother of three, living wherever the military sends her husband. She enjoys crazy nights with friends and board games, snuggling with her family, or, more often than not, the company a good book.

One comment on “Getting Organized, Part 4

  1. Sounds like a great strategy! I’ve heard that the human brain can’t juggle a lot of things effectively (when you have a busy home life, busy business life, each with a lot of projects and complexity). Getting it down on paper and out where you can see it and manage is the way to go. The regular reviews (monthly, weekly) are absolutely essential for me.

    Thanks for sharing your strategies!

Leave a Reply

