1 Comment

When Life and Deadlines Strike

I enjoy writing. I really do. There’s just something about getting the stories of those characters in your head out on paper and sharing it with people. But sometimes, life strikes. And even worse, deadlines.

A couple months ago I got a full time job as a laborer and now work about 50 hours a week. That’s actually an answer to prayer as it means I can save up for future studies, however, it has an adverse affect. My weekends and nights are now shadowed with exhaustion so that when I sit in front of a computer to write, my eyelids get heavy. This means that writing has become almost more of a chore now, even though I want to write, because it takes extra effort. I am currently trying to come up with a feasable goal of words to write in a weekend…we’ll see how that goes.

Burning Keyboard

© Dario Sabljak – Fotolia.com

Deadlines are something I grew to hate in school. They tend to add a ton of stress to one’s life, so that I literally interpret it as “the line at which the end is death: dead-line”. When it came to writing, at first I didn’t want to have deadlines. Then I realized something. Deadlines actually push me to finish. They don’t allow for lazing around like I’d like to do. So in a way, deadlines are good. At least, that’s what I keep telling myself.

And that’s what I’ll continue to tell myself over the holiday weekend as I burn keyboards writing…if I get better.

And just so I don’t miss out: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! :)

About Nathanael Scott

Nathanael Scott has been an enthusiastic reader of a variety of genres for as far back as he can remember, his favorite being science fiction. He uses writing to let loose his imagination in a way that glorifies God and benefits others. If you can’t get hold of him, he’s probably in outer space piloting a starfighter on a mission to save your life. He is the author of Though Storms May Rage, a sci-fi novel that is currently in revision.

One comment on “When Life and Deadlines Strike

  1. And there’s me, who can’t use self-imposed deadlines if my life depended on it. They just don’t motivate me.

Leave a Reply

