3 Comments

Shopping

I love shopping. I know. I know. Most women do, but I am not most women. I tend to look at shopping more like a sport. The object of the game is to get the best quality for the least amount. Every other Tuesday,  my girls and I go on the hunt in our small local town. There aren’t a whole lot of shops other than Walmart, but that makes it more challenging. We really try to have a good relationship with small local retailers. They are our neighbors after all.

We adore the thrift store that has bag sales; everything you can cram in  a Hefty bag for $5. The small grocery that still has a proper butcher; he will cut meat any way I want. That includes grinding beef roast into hamburger. Crazy when you can get roast for $2 less a pond than ground beef, huh? The hardware store that is third generation. They know my family has built a house and always ask and care what projects we are doing at the time. The new tire shop that tries to give me freebies. I think the tire guy has a small crush on me…that or he thinks I am his therapist. Seriously, in two trips I know his life story and I don’t mind at all.  Or it could be the $5 tip I always give him. We love the restaurants that sell local crafts, bake their bread fresh daily, and know what we want to drink and where we want to sit.

That doesn’t sound much like a game, you say? Well, notice I said best quality for the least amount? It only costs me a day to visit all the wonderful people of small-town-USA and learn a little about them. Share a little about me. But mostly root into a community of Americans that work hard for the fruits of their labor. It only takes me two days a month to learn to love them  and want them to prosper. No amount of money can buy that and for me, that is the value.

Oh, and look at my best buy of the week. Could there be a shirt more suited to me in all of the world?  I paid $1 for that little lovely at the thrift store. Still had the tag on it even.

Do you love shopping? Do you have relationships with the people you give your business to?

Peace, love and God’s will.

 

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

3 comments on “Shopping

  1. I’ve seen that shirt before. Guess who I thought of? ;)

  2. I love the shirt. I am still pouting that you won’t let me come along. I understand why, but am still pouting.I love trying to find the best deals, but have a hubby that likes to rush and just throw things in the cart. I really enjoy the environment in the local shops and grocery compared to Walmart.

Leave a Reply

