16 Comments

There’ll Be No Zombies Here

How many of you have ever watched the zombie movie where the little girl has been bitten and her mom and dad keep her in hopes that she may not turn into a ravenous brain eater? I can’t remember exactly which Night of the Living Dead it was but it was probably early 80′s. Anyhoo, the girl changes and the mom sits there and lets her daughter eat her alive.Every time I see that movie I scream at the mom and say what an idiot she is. Why, oh why would you be so stupid, woman? She’s not your daughter anymore. Get over it and chop her head off.  But, no. The mom basically killed herself so the monster could feed. <head-desk>

That said, I can understand the mom’s sentiment. Really, I can. I love my children, but I’m just more of a chop my leg off to live over lie down and die kind of gal. Sorry, daughter, you will be destroyed today. Matter of fact, let me help you see Jesus a bit faster and I will miss you. You are better off not eating brains.

This year has been a lesson in pain and joy. My two oldest are now officially gone from home.  Their journeys have begun and all I can do is is stand back and shove material into my hemorrhaging gut wound. My injury is self-inflicted. I encouraged them to go. I trained them for what comes next. See, if they were to stay with me, they would be no better than zombies, and eventually they would destroy me along with themselves. Young men are not meant to stay at home through adulthood. And I don’t want to hear about the dude living in his momma’s basement.  I will actually use that as case in point.

The last two months I have suffered regret and doubt. I have been afraid to write for fear I might bleed-out on the pages. Today I stand and say no more. There’ll be no zombies here. I trust my sons are well equipped for life and God has their backs every step of the way. I leave you all with a song that says pretty much how I raised them to live.

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

16 comments on “There’ll Be No Zombies Here

  1. What’s with all the zombie stuff? I’m seeing it everywhere.

    But that is an awesome analogy. And that guitar lick in the beginning is enough to pull at anyone’s heartstrings, especially a momma in your shoes. :-)

  2. Your wound will heal, and make you stronger. Just as it is making your boys stronger. You have a lot to be proud of! (Including your taste in music. ;)

  3. Great thoughts, Diane! Though, for the life of me, I can’t understand why you chose Shinedown over Skynyrd. :)

  4. The next time you see your boys, thank them on my behalf for being willing to take on the challenge and the honor it is to be marines. You have so much to be proud of, and I thank you for not allowing your boys to add to the pool of mindless zombies wandering around out there. :)

  5. First, from a Christian perspective, the zombie is a metaphor for the spiritually dead. As Christians we live among them and ought to be properly horrified. So the more appropriate comparison would be a Christian parent’s reaction to an unregenerate child.

    Second, the view you espouse regarding children becoming independent and autonomous from the family is a uniquely American perspective.

    You say, “Young men are not meant to stay at home through adulthood. And I don’t want to hear about the dude living in his momma’s basement. I will actually use that as case in point.”

    That viewpoint is being increasingly rejected even among American Christians. The Abrahamic model of fundamental familial unity across generations is a beautiful thing.

    • Hi, Mundy. I have no idea who you are and it is mighty fine of you to come to my blog post in which I am talking about my sons leaving home to be men instead of being mindless zombie mooches and trying to school me on the finer points of Christianity in America. If you happened to know me, you would know that your form of education to this 38 year old mother of five is directly rejected for snarkiness and ignorance. Furthermore, let me kick that soapbox right out from beneath you and give you a little schooling. Young men and women are NOT ever meant to be a burden upon their mothers and fathers. They are to be a blessing and honor them…in which my children are and do.

      If you would like to get to know a little bit more about me and my fine fine family and come back and talk respectfully and knowledgeably in the future, then maybe I will take you seriously. Until then, step off!

      • I am sorry to have offended. That wasn’t my intent. I realized in retrospect that my response “well technically blah blah blah” was unhelpful. But I couldn’t find a delete function.

        • This was a personal blog post. I tend to share a lot of my life with my readers. My two oldest sons recently left for Marine Corps boot camp. They were homeschooled and I assure you, we are very close. :) As you may have noticed, I am a bit touchy when it comes to my children. ;)

Leave a Reply

