1 Comment

We Fail

Each day we are presented with temptation. Temptation is a horrible thing all humans have to deal with no matter where they are in age, status or maturity…and, no, age and maturity are NOT the same things.  Temptation is always specially tailored to the individual, and usually presented in a private way so the temptee thinks no one will see what she did while no one was looking.

We fail! Often and miserably, we fail.

What always amuses me about this failure is our uncanny way of trying to justify our failure with the failure of other humans. Can’t you hear it now? “So-in-so did it!” Oh, that makes it okay then. *snark* Sounds a whole lot like a disobedient child, huh? That is because we are disobedient children. Sin is disobedience. What sets the individual apart from another is when she admits her failure, asks forgiveness from the one she wronged and takes responsibility for her own actions.

But that is not the end of it. She has to try the best she can to NOT fail under that temptation again. That’s a tough one. It was tailored specially and all. I don’t often admit defeat but there are certain things I am just not strong enough to do on my own. My temptation is pride. Only with grace can I overcome my weakness each day and then only when I remember how very weak I am on my own.

What is one of your temptations, dear reader? Do you feel like you can handle it all on your own? Or do you have someone you can turn to?

Peace, love and God’s will.

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

One comment on “We Fail

  1. The longer I’m a parent, the more I see how we are with our heavenly Father, and it’s the kiddos’ temper-tantrums and self-centeredness I’m talking about. Wow, I’ve got a bunch of weaknesses, chocolate being one of them ha! But the biggest one I struggle with is my anger…and since I don’t turn to anyone, I’ve got pride too. :-)

    Sigh. One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

