6 Comments

Anticipating What’s to Come?

One week from today, the movers will be here. They’ll pack up our belongings, load them on a truck, and ship them across the Pacific Ocean, back to the mainland.

Our new furture is fast approaching.

I’ve prayed to the Lord several times to ease my anxiousness about this life-changing move. Not only are we moving from Hawaii to Kentucky, but my husband and I are leaving a lifestyle that we’ve kown most of our lives–the life of a military family. We were both military brats raised in the Army. In fact, our dads knew each other back in the 80’s; they used to play raquetball together. We didn’t meet until a good 15 years later.

We both had brief interludes into the civilian world during our early 20’s, but after we were married, my husband joined the National Guard, from which he was deployed to Kosovo. Like many deployments, we found ourselves preparing for a child after his two-week vacation mid-way. With the need for medical care, our path was laid out before us, and hubby went active duty when he got back.

Now–seven years, two deployments, countless TDY’s, and five moves later–we find ourselves slipping into the civilian world in the scariest of ways. My husband is being discharged for medical reasons–directly related to his service. We have no jobs, no home, no medical insurance (for the kids and I). We have never been more unsure of what our future holds.

And it’s scary.

Still, I know I need to trust the Lord. He is all-knowing. He knows my past, my present, and my future.

You know that funny lil’ saying: “I know the Lord only gives me what I can handle, I just wish He didn’t trust me so much.” (something along those lines) Yeah, that’s how I feel.

I do trust the Lord. I’m willing to step out in faith. If I lean on Him, it will only make me stronger. If my family trusts Him, it will only bring us closer together.

One week. And then the journey begins.

About Ralene Burke

Whether Ralene Burke is wielding a writer’s pen, an editor’s sword, or a social media wand, she always has her head in a dreamer’s world. And she wants to make it SHINE! In her own writing, Ralene spins fast-paced tales of fantasy worlds, angels and demons, and the broader calling of every human being. A place where the light pierces the darkness . . . You can find out more about her writing and editing services on her website: www.raleneburke.com. Outside of the publishing world, she is a veteran’s wife and a homeshooling mama of three amazing children. She enjoys crazy nights with friends and board games, snuggling with her family, or, more often than not, enjoying the company of a good book.

6 comments on “Anticipating What’s to Come?

  1. The will of God will not take you where the grace of God cannot keep you. Like Abraham, He will make your path clear.

  2. I’m excited for you, Ralene. While not as dramatic, a similar situation for me was deciding on putting an offer on a house. As a security guard, it seemed impossible that we could afford it. Meditating through Proverbs and the phrase “Fear of the Lord” was extremely helpful. Don’t fear the future, fear the Lord, who loves you and has prepared your way since before the foundation of the world.

    • Putting an offer on a house is a HUGE deal. My husband and I have been contemplating how/when we’ll be able to afford one ourselves. I do try to focus on some much loved verses in the Bible, but maybe I’ll have to focus more on Psalms and Proverbs over the next few months.

  3. Wow, Ralene. I can understand you being nervous! But you’ve been faithful, and God will get you through this time, too. I know you know that, but I also know the nerves are going to be there regardless! Faith doesn’t mean not being scared :). My prayers are with you!

    • Yeah, I always go back and forth over whether being so nervous is “right” or not. I guess it’s impossible to resist human nature, however, as long as I continue to trust in the Lord, I can rest easier.

Leave a Reply

