3 Comments

Introducing William Ramirez

With our own dear turtle graduating to the granny flat, we get to welcome a new featured author into the NAF fold. So I get the pleasure of introducing you to my buddy, William Ramirez.

Epic Fantasy

This is not Will. But it could be one of his characters. — Image © Vladimirs Poplavskis — Fotolia.com

Will is probably sick of me by now, because I keep turning up when he least expects it. We’re both members of the Central Florida chapter of Word Weavers, the critique group arm of the Christian Writers Guild. We occasionally wind up in the same breakout group, because we both have written fantasy novels.

Then, when I was in St. Louis last year for the American Christian Fiction Writers conference, thinking I was the only Word Weaver in the place, I ran into Will at the first-timers orientation.

One of the benefits of ACFW membership is the Scribes online critique group. Shortly after I joined, I was able to get into a Scribes small group with, yes, Will. By now I figure he was ready to file a restraining order.

But as nutty as it is that we keep turning up in the same places, I have to believe it’s a God thing. Will and I are in similar places in our writing journey. What Randy Ingermanson calls “Seniors.” Almost, but not quite, published novelists. Soooooo close…

Will has been a great encourager to me as we pursue this wacky business, and I hope I’ve done the same for him. I was pleased to be sitting with him at the Florida Christian Writers Conference last spring when his book was named “Novel of the Year.”

This is Will.

Will’s tagline is “Adventure that makes you think!” and that’s a great motto. His epic fantasy, Soul Yearning, is set in a world where godlike beings compete for worshippers. It raises questions about mercy, justice, prejudice, and faith, and considers Who is really worthy of worship.

You may have seen Will’s work at Clash of the Titles, where earlier this year Soul Yearning was a contender in the annual unpublished contest. Will has also a semi-finalist in ACFW’s Genesis contest for unpublished novels two years running. In fact, this year he’s a double-semi-finalist, with two books in the contest. And his short story “Sweet Victory” is slated to appear in the October edition of Bards and Sages Quarterly.

Will blogs at Rejoice Evermore, a site that’s all about thankfulness.

I think I speak for the whole NAF crew when I say we’re thankful to have Will on board.

About Kristen Stieffel

Kristen Stieffel is a writer and freelance editor specializing in speculative fiction. She's a member of the Editorial Freelancers Association, Christian Editor Connection, and American Christian Fiction Writers. Her fantasy series The Prophet's Chronicle is under contract at OakTara Publishers.

3 comments on “Introducing William Ramirez

  1. Thanks for the awesome introduction Kristen. You’e always been a source of great encouragement to me. I’m so excited to a part of NAF!

  2. Hi, Will! *waves* Welcome to our humble corner of the world. :)

  3. [...] was comparing submission notes with Will Ramirez at the ACFW conference last fall, and he suggested I follow up with Ramona to see whether [...]

Leave a Reply

