1 Comment

A Miniscule Understanding of Love…

Growing up in church, I heard about God’s love for us. Because of that, He sent

Jesus to die on the cross for us. And these two questions have spun in

my mind ever since I was old enough to grasp the concept.

How could anyone, even a divine, infinite God, love that much? How did he feel when His Son died?

I never will fully understand. But I think that two events in my life have helped me see things a little clearer.

After I got married, I understood infinite love. I love my husband Justin so

much–I would do anything for him and put up with anything in order to keep him. Yes, anything. We’re committed to each other, to looking past the dings and scrapes that we were born with. I love him so much that sometimes I feel like I will burst because I can’t hold it in.

As for how God felt when Jesus died–well…

Matty hadn’t even been born yet when he passed away. Yet I loved him with a fierce, protective love. I would have done anything to keep him safe. He was my baby, my little boy, and I loved him.

How much more did God love Jesus? God loves so deeply, that He must hurt deeply also, and nothing could have hurt more than His Son’s death.

And yet He allowed it, because His creation needed it.

Wow.

The more I think about it, the more I realize that marrying Justin and having Matty helped me, but only a little. I understand it better, but I still cannot grasp the full concept of a God who allowed His Son to die because He loved us so very much. A love like that is beautiful, awesome, powerful, and the One who bears it is truly worthy to be not only worshiped, but feared–because I cannot understand it. Not fully.

But I understand it just enough to be awed and amazed and so very, very thankful.

About H. A. Titus

H. A. Titus, a self-admitted word nerd, lives on the shores of Lake Superior with her meteorologist husband. She lives most of the day in an imaginary land or with her nose stuck in a book. Occasionally her husband manages to pull her into the real world long enough for an exciting adventure such as jetskiing or snowmobiling. She began writing at age 8. At age 12, she discovered The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, became a fantasy nerd, and never looked back. She writes stories set in fantasy, science fiction, urban fantasy, and steampunk worlds. H. A. Titus is currently rewriting/editing her fantasy novel, Half Blood, as well as working on numerous novellas in science fantasy and urban fantasy genres.

One comment on “A Miniscule Understanding of Love…

  1. Wow – I can begin to describe how touching your post is. I have a beautiful bride and four children of my own. If the pain I feel for them when they hurt is just a microfraction of what God went through to redeem us through His Son…wow. Thanks for sharing this :)

Leave a Reply

