2 Comments

New Appreciation of My Wife

I started writing a post about how I completed draft four of my novel, but got bored. My brain is tired and what I really want to write about is how this weekend I went on a ten mile bike ride with my wife. It has been a great feeling to have finished draft four, and having subsequent down time to read, watch movies, and mostly spend time with Rachel.

Another piece of good news is that my leg is feeling better. I went to a massage therapist and had the knot in my muscle rubbed out. This past week I swam twice and did yoga four times. On Saturday I did yoga and then was still feeling well enough to go for a bike ride. We took back streets through suburb housing, went around a golf course, and through a rich neighborhood (Rachel loves looking at nice houses).

Rachel has a lot of cute moments, and one of them is her riding a bike. There’s just something precious about seeing the kid in her run free. Near the end of our bike ride, we saw a girl on her bike, around the age of the girl in the photo. Her helmet was half falling off the side, she was peddling her cute little heart out, smiling, and had her somewhat sweaty hair matted on the sides of her face. I laughed and after the girl passed I told Rachel that that little girl was her.We both had a big laugh because it was true. Rachel was a little girl again that day and wore her cute little self out having a ball of a time.

I’m so thankful for moments where I appreciate my wife in new ways. That was one of them. I hope I never forget.

About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward writes SF/F/and Horror during his day job, and podcasts in the evening on Adventures in SciFi Publishing. His first short story publication is "Cornhusker: Demon Gene." His first non-trunked novel, Kaimerus, is described as “Firefly crashes on Avatar and wakes up 28 Days Later.” His dream is writing full-time where he can snowboard and play with Huskies. Currently, he lives in Des Moines and his wife lets him have a Husky wall calendar, so he’s “this” close.

2 comments on “New Appreciation of My Wife

  1. Sounds like fun! Well, except for the bike ride part. lol… Still, it’s important to spend time with our loved ones, especially since we, as writers, tend to spend so much time in our own little worlds. hehehe…

Leave a Reply

