Leave a comment

Oatmeal and Eternity

I’ve been dealing with a pulled muscle in my leg for the last few months, and this week decided to eat oatmeal for breakfast (I’ll let you try and figure out the connection). Well, one of my friends walked in to work and asked what was for breakfast (did I mention I live in a fishbowl? I get this question (what I’m eating) at least twenty times a day). I told him “Oatmeal, raisins and flax seed.” His response was, “Well at least you’ll live forever.”

I didn’t say anything because most of the conversations I get like this the person is already halfway down the hall by the time I respond the first time, but I was really encouraged by what I thought in response. Actually, I am going to live forever.

On a morning and past month of some hard trials and writing and editing my brain out, that was really encouraging. Despite all this, despite having to watch my diet because of a nagging injury keeping me from exercising, despite feeling like I’m going to write for the next ten years before anyone realizes I write… despite all that. I’m going to live forever. So who cares about this small stuff?

Anyway, that’s something I was thankful for today. What about you?

And, because I have random info that doesn’t fit as a whole post, here are some bullets:

  • I am 91% through edits on my novel for draft 4. Considering my deadline to submit to the lovely Evil Catbert Editor is July 1, that’s not a bad place to be.
  • I got one second place vote in the Shock Totem Flash Fiction Contest. It was a very tough pool, and I guess in hindsight my story was a little bizarre. You try writing 1st person present tense with a pov who is OCD and thinks he’s a god. It’s hard. My goal is to turn that into something more clear in time for the Fantasy-Faction Anthology.
  • I interviewed Matt Forbeck, who after having quadruplets, thinks that his 12 novels in 12 months campaign is a cinch. I’m not sure how that helps me, but I guess it encourages me that when pressed we can handle much more difficult situations than what we’re in presently. That podcast will be up on my website (timothycward.com) on Wednesday.
About Timothy C. Ward

Timothy C. Ward writes SF/F/and Horror during his day job, and podcasts in the evening on Adventures in SciFi Publishing. His first short story publication is "Cornhusker: Demon Gene." His first non-trunked novel, Kaimerus, is described as “Firefly crashes on Avatar and wakes up 28 Days Later.” His dream is writing full-time where he can snowboard and play with Huskies. Currently, he lives in Des Moines and his wife lets him have a Husky wall calendar, so he’s “this” close.

Leave a Reply

