4 Comments

A Muse Party!

My two-year-old loves Go Dogs Go! So in honor of a thousandth reading (surely we’ve reached that) and that all members of this family older than 1 yr having it memorized, I’m throwing a big Muse Party!

Come on out and share about your muse!

We wanna hear about big ones, little ones, black ones and white ones, red and blue ones, etc. The more the merrier! Bring on the scales and claws or the fur. I want to hear some cool backstory summaries of how you met – in a book world or in real life.

Mine?

A red bird with a crest and long tail feathers tipped with gold. Pele. Technically speaking it’s a shapeshifter, or was. When I was auditioning characters, my cousin set this critter loose on my stage. Ever since then it’s been snitching my food, stealing game pieces and hiding my “to do” lists. Shy at first but devilishly mischievous.

Though he tries to play innocent, I should have figured out his heritage sooner. He definitely has some phoenix blood. Since he turned up my stories have had a horrible habit of spontaneous combustion and rebirth… over and over. Too late I realized also that his namesake is a Hawaiian fire god.

He just about burned himself out of a job. I haven’t figured out whether he’ll ever make it back into the current version of my world. However, by then he had found a comfy spot atop my book case and sleeping in my desk drawer when the kids get too loud.

So what about yours? Scale this tree and let’s get this party going! Peanuts and streamers for everyone. Party hats are recommended, but our insurance doesn’t cover damage from cannons, so bring yours at your own risk.

About Ren Black

Part-time novelist. Weekend artist. Full-time Mother. Ex-poet. Perfectionist by training. Compulsive researcher sporadically. Prone to fits of linguistic commentary Unorthodox Renegade occasionally. Sarcastic by habit... Dreamer Always... Consider Yourself Warned

4 comments on “A Muse Party!

  1. I’m not sure I have a muse. Odd.

    • probably not that odd. All things considered most of us clearly regard God as our source of inspiration rather than a mythical daughter of Zeus. Maybe the only reason I “have one” is because I spent a while among mainstreamers who sometimes liked talking about them. I don’t actually look to Pele for help. He’s more of my imaginary pet from my stories. You know, like Diane could claim Tanner.

      So… I’m probably the “odd” one. lol

  2. Hmm. Never gave much thought to placing a face to my muse before. But when I look at my muse’s bevahioral patterns, I’d have to say it’s some type of cat. It’s sly, sneaky, and demands to be taken care of NOW when I’m in the middle of other important things.
    *sigh* And I’m not even a cat person. :)

    • lol. Good luck with that feline, Heather. I’ve got 2 characters like that. They do tend to sneak in and steal the show, huh.

Leave a Reply

