8 Comments

Creationism vs. Evolution

*Everyone takes out their perspective flags and prepares for war.

Whoa. Whoa. Let’s take a moment. That’s not the creation vs. evolution that I’m writing about here. It’s a much less dramatic and personal issue in this post. What I’m talking about is the creation of a story versus it’s evolution. Sorry for the obfuscation. No you see, just the other day I experienced this firsthand, maybe not for the first time, but surely, it was the clearest. I had an idea for a story. It was a pretty good story ( so says the creator) and I began working on it.

Let’s back track just a bit and maybe note some things about my writing process, if you will. See for me, I always, always have the end of a story in mind. Nine times out of 10 the first thing I think of is the end. Also important to me is a good title. It helps me envision the story as a whole, even without the beginning and middle. Maybe it has something to do with naming it. When we name something, it becomes real. It becomes real. There may be many writers who say pshaw to the importance of a great title, but there are countless others who favor this unwritten rule. So the end. Check. A good title. Check.

So creation. We are all creators. Artists, writers/authors. Whether we write  poetry, short stories, epic’s, horror, fantasy or sci-fi and everything else in between, we create these worlds. We build them. We are the gods of our worlds. This is all left unsaid. But returning to my original topic, as I began creating this story that came from a simple idea, I began, of course, to create its world. Let’s call it Pierce. I’m trying not to sound redundant here, but I promise I do have a point. The world was empty. There was an echo. There was one man, speaking to himself. His goals were non-existent. He knew why he was there but that was it. So I went on some social networks and stepped away for a few hours. Then out of Nowhere*, something hit me. The story went from this sole person, speaking to himself to something far more interesting. Mind you, I did no editing. He was still there, alone but now he has a lot to do. But I wasn’t satisfied. So I continued to edit another ms that needed my attention. A day passed and I wanted to finish the Pierce story. I opened up the Word doc. and something yelled at me. I swear I think it was so loud my wife might have heard it. Organisms that I couldn’t see before were climbing out of the ocean of this world. They were always there but they evolved into a more interesting story. They began walking on land. Of course, I mean this metaphorically. The analogy is comparing the empty world of my story to the earth, of course. Soon, the world was full and rich and the story was complete.

From its initial creation the story evolved from an idea for a story to a story about this, then that. The core elements remained but it had evolved into a rich and engaging tale, I hope. It’s different from editing in that a full story is edited after it’s completion. The evolution of the idea was in my head. But then again…editing…is basically…when a story evolves, no? Mind blown. :}

I must note that my stance on creationism vs. evolution, in short is this-pro on both sides. That is to say, I believe in Creation as I believe that Christ came to Earth and took all the sin of the world on His back and through his side…and over his head. I believe His blood cleanses me. I believe He is the Alpha and the Omega, and the Author and Finisher of my faith. God is the Creator. I believe in Creation. But I must also say that I admit that God could have used and has every right and the means to use evolution in one form or ten. Can He not also enact evolution as He sees fit?

He IS God after all.

Word.

About Tymothy Longoria

Tymothy Longoria loves God, his wife and his two children. While working two jobs two years ago he decided he could be what God had been calling him to be. A writer. Since then he has written numerous poems, a childrens picture book called The Sad Little Robut and a dark fantasy, the first in a series called The Stories, where he says, legends will be reborn. All his works are written with passion and a poetic prose. He calls Texas home, where music and art inspire him. He is bringing his calling and his dream of being a career and prolific writer to fruition. Tymothy is represented by Bree Ogden of D4EO Literary Agency and is on the road to bringing The Stories to publication.

8 comments on “Creationism vs. Evolution

  1. Since your intent was unclear to me, just in case you don’t know this, the theory of Evolution is as much bad science as it is bad theology. Academia represses all evidence contradicting their pet theory and dismisses irrationally all evidence that supports the biblical account of the Creation because it contradicts their world view. Men are changeable, so our own creations can tend to evolve, but God said what he meant and meant what he said in the book of Genesis. The language of life is a code we can use to intelligently design artificial life and the forces of evolution, while real, are actually destructive and/or the ability to adapt to destructive environmental changes that God designed into his creation. God is so much bigger and more intelligent and more powerful than man, there really is no comparison between what happens when we create and how he created our world. Theistic evolution cheapens God’s glory, lowers him to our level, and indicates the holder of the view either settled for simply feeling intellectual rather than taking the time to do an intellectual evaluation of the evidence through the trustworthy lens of the Bible’s testimony, or was not allowed to see all of the scientific data and review it for themselves.

    • I knew the title and subsequent post would not be without some kind of controversy. I’m with you. All the way. I would never dare to compare me writing a story to The Creation Story. I think the most confusing part of this post might be when I stated that we are the gods of our worlds.. Note, I did not say, We are God in these worlds. I could never even imagine saying that with any bit of seriousness. Andrea, there really is a difference. If anything, I meant gods as in Roman and Greek mythology. Where the peoples believed in many gods, not the One, all knowing, ever present God that we call out to. I am no one without Him. I’d never lower His glory. Not one bit. True, I am human, we are fallible, but His glory deserves first place, over and over, again and again, and in my life that is where it it.

      Men are changeable, so our own creations can tend to evolve… INDEED.

      I will disagree on one thing. You say, there is no comparison between when we create something and how He created our world. I don’t disagree with your statement, but I do disagree with the implication that I did make such a comparison.

      When I write about or of Him…I write H-i-m.

      In love.

  2. Dear Mr. Longoria,

    Please forgive me for nit-picking, but you keep making a certain mistake (as in, I’ve seen it before today, but also more than once in the above post) that is driving my inner grammar critic insane. I let it slide several times, but you’re a writer, so I feel you should know this.

    I am talking about the usage of its vs. it’s. The possessive of “it” does not have an apostrophe. The contracted form is the only time you use it’s. If you’re confused over contractions versus possessives, then just substitute “it is” in place of the word in question. Only use an apostrophe when the resulting its/it’s has the meaning “it is”. If “it is” does not work as a substitute, then you do not use an apostrophe.

    I return you to your regularly sheduled post.

  3. Caprice, yes. Of course. The little things that kill, right? I’m well aware of the rules of it vs. it’s but in practice it would appear just the opposite.

    Thanks!

  4. It’s a shame you got shredded for this. My stories evolve as I create them, too. I have a story right now that’s going through the ‘evolution’ process that you described. Characters are forming, a concept is taking shape, conflicts are being formulated. I know exactly what you’re talking about.

    You’re lucky that you start with the end, though. Usually I start with a core concept or a “what if..?” and build around that.

  5. When I started writing (probably before you were born, Young Wolf), I only saw those BIG moments, the really exciting parts that I wanted to write. As I matured, the parts in-between started to form, too. They didn’t have the same feeling to them, but they were essential in the evolution of the story. Without them, the story couldn’t exist. It remained a single cell, interesting only to me.

    I enjoy your enthusiasm. Write on, dear boy. You make me smile.

  6. An awesome evolution of the point I was attempting to make! :} Writing truly is a study in evolution.

    Write on, I shall, Turtle, and thank you!

    P.S. I’m older than my picture gives me credit for. :D

Leave a Reply

