12 Comments

A New Door Opens

Today God holds a door open for a new adventure in my life. Rest assured, I’m a little bit nervous. At the same time, I am shriek-worthy excited. So much is happening in my life and in a flash. I am thankful to have dear friends go before me, paving the path and being a much-needed support system. I can’t imagine how Paul Baines must have felt all those months ago when he was the first of our lot to step through the magical door of publication. He was our NAF pioneer and we all lift a plate toward him and cheer…Cheesecake!

In the past few weeks, I have had the joy and horror of seeing all the work that goes into taking my dream and making it worth money. Grace Bridges is tyrant in the best way when it comes to quality. The font must be just so and reading through the novel a hundred times may not be enough. Scene break images and and headers consume hours of time. Acknowledgements, endorsements, dedication, sell sheets, interviews, cover image, back cover blurb…these are just a few of the details that MUST be just so.

I have been terribly blessed with artwork by Robynn Tolbert for my title page and scene break and Newsome Creative for my cover art and web design.  The entire Splashdown Team helped make the back cover blurb extraordinary. I had 3 editors and 5 hawk-eyed proof readers.

Man-o-man, I am getting tired just listing some of the stuff.

But those aren’t the only things taking up my hours. Keven Newsome structured my new site HERE Check it out of you get a chance. Plus, we launched The Cheesecake Thickens HERE…aka The Granny Flat…Alumni Blog. Check it out also. Some of my very favorite people are hanging out there.

Also, did you know that Keven Newsome has NOT read I Am Ocilla yet? Something about him being busy…working full-time, going to school full-time, church, blogging, marketing, writing an Epic serial at Digital Dragon Magazine, writing and editing the sequel to Winter, raising two kids, kissing one very adorable De, and taking over the world.

Pfft! You’d think with all that extra time, he’d have read it ten times already, right? But no. So we got to talking last week on facebook. There was a whole lot of gloating and taunting…usual smack-talk. But the best part is that we made a bet. You can see some of the details right HERE.

Do you know what this means?

The Iguana is going to sing and dance for us. To hear him talk, you’d think he knows something about plot, but I have a feeling his smack-talk will come back and dance him into humiliation.  We will see what the future holds.

Talking about the future reminds me of the door God has held open for me. I’ll be walking through shortly and I would like all of you to give a humongous welcome to my replacement Heather Titus. I hand picked our gal and think she will make an excellent addition around here. Wednesdays will never be quite the same but I have a feeling you will grow to love them in a new way.

Last week I shed my tears for the shift in my world. This week, I will eat cheesecake to celebrate. Remember, my dear friends, God is moving in a big way each day. He has plans for us, and they are good.

Peace, love and God’s will.

About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

12 comments on “A New Door Opens

  1. I enjoyed reading your feelings about your journey. I hope it all goes well for you.

  2. Ah, Princess. My joy is unbounded as the ribbon is cut. There you stand, putting your heart out for all the world to see, spirit buck naked and vulnerable. {{{{{Diane}}}}} Have you begun another story yet? ;)

  3. Congrats! Patience, persistence, and prayer = published…

  4. Congrats! I can’t wait to read Ocilla and I know Heather will do a great job!

  5. Congratulations, Diane! I’m so happy that this is happening!

  6. Praise be to God!

Leave a Reply

