24 Comments

Up, Up…but Not Away

Today is August 30th. Which means that next Tuesday—my regularly scheduled “Featured Author” day here at NAF—is September 6th. In case you didn’t know, September 6th falls after September 1st. And September 1st is the day my novel, Finding Angel, officially releases.

Which means…

I won’t be posting in my regularly scheduled “Featured Author” spot here on NAF next week. Or any week thereafter. Because I won’t be a Featured Author anymore. Yep, I’m moving to the Granny Flat!

The Granny Flat…our affectionate little name here for the “Alumni” room—that room where our writers go when we have moved to the ranks of published author.

Published Author.

(See how capitalizing that phrase makes it look even more impressive? Just kidding.)

Honestly, I am sitting here, writing this, with no clue what to think or say. I’m at the end of one journey, but it is really the beginning of another, most likely even harder, journey. I’m nervous, to tell the truth. I’ve heard so many things about what it’s like to be published, from the incredible to the horrific. I have no idea what this experience holds for me.

I do know this. I will forever love this place called New Authors’ Fellowship. I have made friends here who will always hold special places in my heart. I am so, so very happy that Keven set up this blog to include the alumni. Fore-thinking, that guy. And much appreciated. Because if I thought I’d have to just up and leave I’d be heartbroken right now.

You see, this journey has been filled with amazing people. I’m very much an introvert, so getting myself “out there” and making friends is not something that comes terribly easy for me. I also tend to be a “take me or leave me” kind of person. I am who I am, and I won’t change to please people. This group here on NAF all took me for who I am.

But now I have to move from the comfy confines of aspiring author to actually having my novel in the hands of readers. And those readers may or may not take Finding Angel for who she is. I am lucky that I have this crew to back me up through all of it! True friends who are happy for me when I succeed, and who let me cry on their shoulders when I don’t.

Okay…I really wanted to have this last “Featured Author” post be something brilliant. Something to send me off with a bang before I switch to the once-a-month posting of an Alumni.

Instead, I give you sappy.

About Kat Heckenbach

Kat grew up in the small town of Riverview, Florida, where she spent most of her time either drawing or sitting in her "reading tree" with her nose buried in a fantasy novel...except for the hours pretending her back yard was an enchanted forest that could only be reached through the secret passage in her closet... She never could give up on the idea that maybe she really was magic, mistakenly placed in a world not her own...but as the years passed, and no elves or fairies carted her away...she realized she was just going to have to create the life of her fantasies. She shares that life with her husband and two homeschooling kids. Kat is a graduate of the University of Tampa, Magna Cum Laude, B.S. in Biology. She spent several years teaching, but never in a traditional classroom--everything from Art to Algebra II. Her writing spans the gamut from inspirational personal essays to dark and disturbing fantasy and horror, with over forty short fiction and nonfiction credits to her name.

24 comments on “Up, Up…but Not Away

  1. Congratulations, Kat!

    I do hope the Granny Flat has a great view! (and that you’re able to use it to your advantage to sell tons of your books!

    God bless and keep you in this new phase of your author-journey!

  2. My shoulder is a little soggy since you’ve been around…whine-bag. :P Just kidding. I am so very happy for you, Chicky.
    Have you told the guys to make room in the cupboard for flax seed cookies? I think Paul has herbal tea in there already. They have a mini-fridge you can store your coconut milk smoothies in as well. Be careful, Keven has boobie-traps set, you know how he is.

    • Hehe. Thanks, Di! (I think….)

      BTW, you have ruined my stealth plan of sneaking healthy food into the Granny Flat! Now the guys are going to be on the look-out. Drat. Time to formulate Plan B.

      • I have it on good authority from the Royal Cheesecake Appreciation Society of England (started in my garden shed as long ago as last week and of which I am the founder, chairman, sole member, and teaboy) that cheesecake is actually a health food.

      • Well, Paul, with those creds, who am I to argue? Cheesecake = health food. It is official :).

      • The question is, can you make cheesecake from soy, goat or coconut milk?

      • Yes, you can. I used to have this great recipe with gelatine and orange juice. Nobody believed there wasn’t dairy in it! I have it saved on a very old computer…hope to salvage it someday.

  3. I won’t go into the logistical improbabilities of making a house fly with latex balloons…
    I’ll just say, you’ve earned it. Enjoy!

    • I know how much you dislike this movie, Robynn :). And while I loved the movie, I agree about the balloon thing. But then, we are all here trying to do what is statistically *almost* impossible. So…..

      And, thank you!

  4. I hope you do well with Finding Angel, Kat. Congratulations on moving ahead with your book! :D

  5. My Dearest Kat,

    BANG! there’s your big bang! That was me falling over my lip because I’m so sad that your leaving.I know you’ll be right down in granny flats but that’s not the same.You will be missed! Congratulations on your publication.

    • Aw, Billie, I’m always here for you! Come hang with me in the Granny Flat. Help me get them boys in shape ;). I have a feeling it’s a mess up there….

    • Lucky it wasn’t a balloon… that could be bad…

      Congrats Kat and good luck! I get the impression that life on the “other side” only gets more complicated…

  6. BOOM! You said it best: Up, up and AWAY!

  7. ***confetti**
    Congratulations, Kat! Blessings for you and Finding Angel!
    ***more confetti***

    (I like confetti. :D)

  8. Congrats and best wishes! I hope your book does very well!!

Leave a Reply

