13 Comments

Standard of Double

created by chef Chris Cosentino and Betabrand — were designed for when one button just isn’t enough.

We live in a society of gluttons. Give me, I want, super-size, double-decker, mine, and now are just a few terms I hear and read every day that convince me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a glutton too. Can’t tell you how many times I’ve had to pop open the top button to my britches because I shoveled down a piece of cheesecake even though I was perfectly content with dinner. But the gluttony I’m talking about isn’t just the food variety. I mean the greedy desire to consume and hoard everything you can wrap your little sausage fingers around.

Glutton (noun):
1. a person who eats and drinks excessively or voraciously.
2. a person with a remarkably great desire or capacity for something: a glutton for work; a glutton for punishment.
Now I know some of you are going to call me mean for pointing out the obvious and humongous elephant in the room. To you I say get over yourself and listen, please.  Then you may throw rotten vegetables at me. Shoot, I may join you. It is high time we face our problems instead of living a standard of double. And by that I mean two different things. When you combine the two, you have trouble. Let me explain.
The first is we have at least double of what we need. Our wants have taken over our needs.  You’ll be hard pressed to find a home near you that doesn’t have at least two televisions. I personally have four in my home along with four PC’s, two laptops, an x-box, play station, DS, DSi, and most recently a kindle. We have internet, telephone, three cell phones, and satellite programming. Five vehicles, four dogs, and three cats.  Two bathrooms, four bedrooms, and two living areas. And that, my friends, is on a mountain.
I am a glutton, an out-right fatty.
I don’t need even half of what I have. As a matter-of-fact, I’ve lost everything material before. When I compare contentment from then and now, I’m not any happier for the things I now have. I am thankful God has blessed me.  But sometimes I shut it all off and we simply play cards. The simple things are what double us on the inside and take up very little space. The cheesecake makes our butts big.
The second double standard we are living as a society is the taking of that which is not yours to have. Don’t get me wrong, there are many in need. I have no issue with charity. I have a problem with bummery. You know the people that take when they don’t need and they can’t afford. This isn’t a problem restricted to poor people. This seems to be an issue across the board in the United States. Our current financial crisis tells me so.
Our government currently works to pay debt and bailout other nations, or so they say. This is all done on the dime of tax payers and it is done with no accountability. It is a load of crap and you know what they say about crap…it rolls down hill. To me it is akin to me giving the government my last five dollars for a loaf of bread. I find out later that the bread was only $.50 and it’s moldy. The other $4.50 was used as collateral to take a loan in my name from his uncle Sam loan shark in a seedy neighborhood for hemorrhoid cream. I don’t have hemorrhoids but the government has a brother that owns an ointment company.  I now owe payments on a $45,000 loan I never experienced benefit from and I have ulcers, but have no money for ulcer medicine.I also have no hemorrhoid cream, which would probably be nice considering I just took a royal reaming.
In the mean time, the government and his brother are dining on fresh baked bread, passing it out to a bunch of bums, and sucking another poor schmuck into buying moldy bread from their sister who owns a bakery. I find out they got the bread from her dumpster and now I also have a little food poisoning.
And because everyone in the nation looks up to the government and his family, trusting them with their lives and hard earned money, most follow the example given. Messing people over for their own want, not thinking about the eventual cost or those they harm. Unbuttoning a the top button and letting it all hang out.  The standard of double comes full circle. But you and I know this circle will have to crumble soon. Too many people have sore bottoms and a reckoning will have to ensue.
So, my friends, which are you? The one with moldy bread, ulcers and food poisoning that’s at his breaking point or the person that will soon get his comeuppance? The Standard of Double is crumbling and a reckoning is about to be had.
Peace, love and God’s will.
About Diane Graham

Diane Graham lives in the mountains of eastern Oklahoma with her husband, children and many dogs. She is an avid reader and lover of all art forms that encapsulate imagination and goodness. Her debut novel I Am Ocilla was released in March 2012.

13 comments on “Standard of Double

  1. My Dearest Youngest Daughter,

    No one ever thinks of themselves as a glutton, but I’m sure we have all been guilty of it at one time or another. I’m sure that the true glutton is one who will not share. Or one who takes far more than they need in order to make a profit off of selling it to someone who has less. These are the people who hear about a storm and go overstock on everything they can so that they won’t run out. I’m not condemning those who get scared, just the ones who get greedy. Sometimes we cross the line and don’t realize it. I am a hoarder. I find things laying around and in my minds eye, I see a use for it. It may be a couple years down the road before I use it, but I almost always find a use for it. In the meantime I build up too many messes.I sometimes have to make myself throw things away and this hurts, cause I just know I’ll need it sometime or another.LOL Know what I mean?

  2. I know what you mean, just thought I’d bring a little levity to your suffering. Love you baby girl.

  3. I came to a realization this week Diane. It came as a shock, but it’s here nontheless. I caught myself thinking about what comes next, planning for how I’m going take care of my family…after the United States. Which means that some part of my brain has decided that Washington isn’t going to get us out of this, can’t get us out of this, or won’t get us out of this. I hope I’m wrong, but if not….

    Turn out the lights, the party is over.

    “When the foundations are being destroyed, what can the righteous do?

    The Lord is in His holy temple; the Lord is on His heavenly throne.” Psalm 11

    • A) I realize that I wrote “after the United States” when in truth I should have written “after the Constitution.” For if history is any teacher, and it is, a fine one, then the US will probably continue on. It’s just that soon someone will come along who will promise to fix things, if we just give him the power to cut through the deadlock in Congress. And we will.

      B) I forgot to mention that once again your writing is wonderful, your insights are delightful, and that Quinton fellow is one lucky guy. Hope you heal quickly, and painlessly.

    • Nodding. Tin-foil hat in place.

  4. The government is not going to take care of us. The government can’t take care of itself. We have to be good stewards of what God has given us. I mean, if you’re having trouble making ends meet, don’t make it harder by buying $80.00 tickets to a football game. Financially, we live in a nation of toddlers who have never learned to say “no” to themselves.

  5. Mmm … moldy bread. Yum!

    Great analogy there, Diane. He keeps saying he’s for the American people, but he does things non-beneficial for us behind our backs. And this is far from the only thing he has talked out of both sides of his mouth on. “A chicken in every pot” turns out to be a slimy bit of turkey.

  6. Thank you, Victor. This is an issue that knows no political or racial bonds. It has been around for quite some time and is now at a breaking point. God help us.

Leave a Reply

