15 Comments

Words on the Menu

We interrupt this regularly scheduled blog post for an announcement…

Attention fantasy readers! I am pleased to officially announce that I have signed a publishing contract with Diminished Media Group, a new small press run by the fine folks who already bring speculative fiction audiences Digital Dragon magazine and A Flame in the Dark.

Through this contract, Diminished Media intends to publish my serial fiction The Windrider. Some of you may have read the first season of this tale, which ran in Digital Dragon from July of 2009 to August of 2010. Diminished Media’s publications will include an ebook version of not only this first set of thirteen stories, revised for publication, but a second ebook of the serial’s continuation, part of which ran at my blog at the end of 2010. For those want to have all the stories on paper, a print compilation of both seasons will also release from DMG.

When will all these stories be available? The release schedule is set for this fall—roughly mid October for the first book, late November for the second, and the release date for the print compilation is TBD.

So break out you Kindles (and other ereaders) and keep an eye out for further announcements about when you can get your compiled editions of The Windrider. Better yet, if you’d like to be on a mailing list where I specifically alert you to exact release dates, email me at beckyminor123[at]comcast[dot]net.

Happy adventuring,

Becky

And now, for my usual extended metaphorical post for the day…

Words. I tend to devour them. When the writing is good but easy, like in quality YA fiction (Lloyd Alexander comes to mind) I scarf words down faster than a teenage boy shovels breakfast cereal. When the prose is meaty, I love to savor it like a cabernet too expensive for me to buy for myself, at least with any regularity. But when the words are my own that I have to eat, well, they go down a little hard. A smidge bitter–and tough like overcooked pork.

I’m finding I have to eat my words a little right now with regard to my last decade of mantra, “Aside from extenuating circumstances, the only reason most married women can’t afford to stay home with their children is because they won’t make deep enough sacrifices to do so.”

I won’t get into the gritty details, but the work my husband does is a type of ministry, one that he is absolutely called to and undeniably gifted to carry out. But as with all ministry, one doesn’t do it for the money. We have rearranged our lives quite a bit over the past year, trying to find the happy balance between gathering the necessary practical resources, nurturing our family, and enabling my husband to do what God has made him to do. But I found the rearranging we did wasn’t enough, and if we want to be serious about achieving our goals, we’ve discovered more radical change is in order.

I have always known, from an academic standpoint, that my relationship to God comes first, my relationship to my husband comes second, my children, after that, and the rest needs to fall in line from there. It’s so easy as a mom to shuffle the kids ahead of the husband, and sometimes even ahead of God, if we’re being honest. Our situation of late has made it clear to me I need to do what I can to support my husband in his calling, and that will involve a career move for me. A full-time career move.

Do I still believe homeschooling is the best educational option for students whose families are committed to the educational paradigm? Absolutely. Do I still think kids need “quantity time” interaction with their parents? No question. Do I need to step back a bit and let my husband take on a more active role in molding our boys into young men, and does that involve me working more so he can have just ONE job for the first time in our marriage? (This is the one that goes down like an un-chewed tortilla chip.) Yes.

The view of my horizon is shifting rapidly, and as frightening as that is, it’s also OK. The one thing about the horizon I must remember is that as we travel, what we see in the distance constantly changes. For this season of my life, indeed, I will be shifting into a very different role in my family. Something I can count on, though, is that how things look today will likely not resemble my life a year from now. I will strive to keep the hierarchy in place: God, Husband, Kids, Everything Else.

I may have a meal on the table I never expected to serve, some of whose ingredients I’ve never encountered before today, but if I handle the dishing out with a deft hand, all the diners at the table have a good chance of coming away satisfied.

About Rebecca Minor

Rebecca P Minor draws perspective from her pursuit of various art forms, including writing, drawing, and music (singing mostly, though there was a time when a trombone figured in.) A 1997 graduate from The University of the Arts in Philadelphia, Becky earned a BFA in animation. Since then, she has worked as a character animator, a freelance artist, an art teacher, and most importantly, a wife to her husband Scott and mother of three boys. Her novel, Curse Bearer, is now available for purchase in paperback from Amazon and Barnes and Noble. Also available as ebooks and paperback: The Windrider Saga, a serial fantasy.

15 comments on “Words on the Menu

  1. That’s great news, Becky! Congratulations! While I’m not the biggest fan of short fiction, I’ve been forcing it down of late in an effort to support my own writing of short fiction. I look forward to reading The Windrider, and seeing how you wrote serial fantasy.

    As for your home life and this career path change, I think you’ve got the right idea. It sounds like a difficult circumstance, but you have your priorities in line, and that should give you the right spiritual food to endure this season.

    • Oh, Windrider is good :) And I think the first season still clocks in at around 23,000 words or there abouts, So not too short.

    • Oh, I know what you mean, Tim. I like my fiction in epic experiences more than I do in small portions…which is probably why I don’t write short with as much success as I would like. The Windrider works more like a novella in that each installment give you a new event contributing to the story, though no installment is an entire story in and of itself. Hopefully folks will go with that and enjoy it. It makes for a fast-paced read.

      Thanks for dropping by, and looking forward to hearing more of your thoughts around these parts. :)

      • I’m not discrediting the potential of your story, and am actually quite excited to get this when it comes out. With the amount of time it’s going to take to get my novel rewritten, I plan on serializing short fiction and look forward to seeing how you do it. I’d love to interview you prior to your release if you want so I can ask you about the process.

        Thanks, and glad to stop by. I’m growing more fond of this group by the day.

  2. Oh, Becky don’t feel too bad. We’ve all done that type of thing about SOMETHING. I’m just glad you guys have a plan that sounds like it will be beneficial to the boys. Work is a time killer, but if it means that you will actually get MORE family time (with Scott) then I think it will prove worth it. Might give Scott a boost in the arm too. You’ll find the time to write as well, of that I have no doubt. All the best to you, Becky! Oh, yeah, and congrats! :)

  3. My dearest Becky,

    I can identify with your love of words. My father was probably one of the biggest lovers of words. Hence, I had to acquire a bit of his knowledge,therefore my daughter attained a love for anything to do with verbosity. Here is a little ditty that a friend of my father’s presented him with,encased in a frame as if it were a document of honor.

    There once was a man of verbosity,
    Who loved words with a savage ferocity.
    Waxing profound, He fell to the ground.
    Knocked out by his own pomposity.

    • Ha! So funny. My husband’s grandfather would love that and recite it to anyone who was (or wasn’t) listening. :) But there’s a little lesson there…being bloated on our own words is a pretty silly thing to do to ourselves, isn’t it?

  4. By the way,congratulations on something well deserved!

  5. Congrats on the WIndrider series :) That’s great news.

    Becky, I’m right alongside you. I never thought I would work outside the home until my kids were older, but God had different plans for me. Its only for a season (hopefully), but its still hard. Its learning to let go of what is not important (spotless house lol), learning to trust God that He will hold everything together because I can’t, and letting my husband take over some of what I used to do.

    I’m blessed that I enjoy my job. I cannot imagine going to a job I don’t like everyday. And I know that by my sacrifice, my husband can be who God has called him to be. And through his ministry, others may come to know God. But its not easy. I need God’s help everyday :)

    I will be praying for you!

    • Thank you, Morgan, for the prayers. It’s good to know I have comrades in a similar position to remind me I’m not crazy for the level of stress I’m feeling at this shift in my life. I pray the Lord will bless your family as you seek to do what is both right and workable!

  6. I_Can_So_Relate.

    My husband, up until 12 years ago was non-profit ministry all the way. We still haven’t caught up financially, and I had to start working when my “baby” was in his last year of high school. It was a work from home job, which helped, but it didn’t help his education as much as being in a school would have done. It also gave my husband a false sense of relief that I could keep on doing everything that I had been doing and keep up with a demanding job. :)

    Currently, I have a private tutoring job, but only for one more year, and Marion County Florida has a high rate of unemployment, and I am 58 years old.

    I wish you the best, and know that you will manage just fine.

    Congratulations on the publishing end of things!

  7. Thanks for stopping in and offering your perspective, Susan. I pray your situation with your work, in a place where jobs are increasingly scarce, will work out smoothly when the time comes for your tutoring job to come to a close.

    Funny, how we sometimes forget working from home is still working, and doesn’t take any fewer hours of the day than being outside the home…no commute of course, but one still can’t vacuum and do “work-work” at the same time.

Leave a Reply

