8 Comments

Special Guest – Bryan Davis

Introduction

By Kat Heckenbach

Bryan Davis is the author of multiple Christian young adult fantasy series—yes, that’s multiple series, including Dragons in Our Midst, Oracles of Fire, Echoes From the Edge, Dragons of Starlight, and Tales of Starlight, together comprised of fourteen novels (so far). He’s also penned and published one mainstream young adult novel, four children’s books, and two non-fiction books. (Have I missed something, Bryan? I wouldn’t be surprised—that’s a lot of books!)

I met Bryan a few years ago at the Florida Christian Writers Conference. I could only go for one day, but that day changed my life. I sat in on Bryan’s Teen Track writing class, where I learned more than I thought possible in two short hours.

It shouldn’t be surprising, though, that Bryan Davis would be an awesome teacher. With his list of published works and status as a homeschool dad of seven, it seems only natural. He’s laid-back and patient, and puts everything in easy-to-understand terms. He’s also incredibly encouraging. His love for teens shone through in everything he said and did in that class, and it was obvious the teens loved him back.

He makes it look easy, but don’t let that fool you. He had his share of struggling to deal
with in the beginning. And what I really like about Bryan is that he’s quite open about
those early days.

Which is what he’s here to tell us about. In his own words, here’s Bryan Davis:

Go to page 2 ==>

About Kat Heckenbach

Kat grew up in the small town of Riverview, Florida, where she spent most of her time either drawing or sitting in her "reading tree" with her nose buried in a fantasy novel...except for the hours pretending her back yard was an enchanted forest that could only be reached through the secret passage in her closet... She never could give up on the idea that maybe she really was magic, mistakenly placed in a world not her own...but as the years passed, and no elves or fairies carted her away...she realized she was just going to have to create the life of her fantasies. She shares that life with her husband and two homeschooling kids. Kat is a graduate of the University of Tampa, Magna Cum Laude, B.S. in Biology. She spent several years teaching, but never in a traditional classroom--everything from Art to Algebra II. Her writing spans the gamut from inspirational personal essays to dark and disturbing fantasy and horror, with over forty short fiction and nonfiction credits to her name.

8 comments on “Special Guest – Bryan Davis

  1. “so since my kids had made me into a pretty decent dad, it seemed to be the way to go.”

    Ha! Isn’t that the truth. I was clueless before my children taught me all the things needed to be a good momma.

    Thanks for sharing your journey with us, Bryan. :D

  2. Thanks for the great article. I have been struggling with my writing journey and you have just shed a little light on where I have to turn for answers. I always say that I am doing it for God, but am I really putting myself out there or still leaving the safety net in place. Time for some serious prayer and reflection. Thank you.

    All for the Glory of God
    Chris

  3. Awesome post.

  4. What an inspiration! You captured my attention Bryan….amazing article and just the crumb under the table that I needed….more like a feast…it is your spirit that comes through with your writing….you are a channel of God.

  5. Thank you for posting this article, and thank you for the kind responses. I feel very blessed. :-)

    Bryan Davis

Leave a Reply

