18 Comments

Please Welcome Our Newest Member

Avily Jerome!

I am very excited to welcome Avily Jerome into the Fellowship today!  She will be a fresh new voice and personality on this blog, and I hope that all of you give her the same support and love you’ve given the rest of us over these past six months!  She has a personality and style that fits right in with this crazy family, and I just hope we don’t scare her off!

Avily Jerome is a married, stay-at-home mom of three living in Phoenix, AZ.  She is active in her church on the worship team and serves as the coordinator of the quarterly newsletter.  She writes Christian speculative fiction, her ideas ranging from almost-real-world action/adventures to supernatural thrillers. When she’s not writing or parenting, she loves to read, go hiking with friends, and crochet baby blankets.

And I have it from a reputable source that she is a fan of Firefly.

Avily’s short stories have been published in the eZines Writing Raw (Nov. 2009), and The Cross and the Cosmos (Jan. 2010), and her articles appear regularly in her church’s newsletter, Connecting.

Along with our own Diane Graham and myself (Keven Newsome), Avily was also a 2009 Marcher Lord Select Premise Contest finalist with her novel Dying for Dragons. Check out her Profile and Portfolio page to read more about her work.

Now that the introduction is complete, I’d like to turn my attention to my previous post.  There were a lot of unpleased people at the fact that I left such a cliffhanger.  A couple NAF members even resorted to passive-aggressive coercion to try and get information out of me and my wife.

Shame on you.  You know who you are.

But in truth, the information everybody wanted was there all along.  Paul found it, but it seems it was too well hidden for everyone else to figure out.  Where was the clue, you may ask?  Clue?  Nay… I said the ANSWER was in the post!  How?

I used “invisible ink.”  Allow me to teach you something.  In a moment there will be a blank space in which I will write with my “invisible ink.”  Simply place your cursor on one side and highlight the area the way you would copy and paste something.  Ready to practice?  Here it is -> YAY!  You did it! Now go back to the other post HERE, find the half inch of white space between my last sentence and the red herring, and do likewise.

Now wasn’t that fun?

Before I sign off on this post, I want to send out another special thank you to the other two final candidates that we considered (you know who you are).  I think you are both immensely talented and I hope to find a way to involve you with NAF in possibly a guest capacity at some point in the future.  Thank you for your patience and cooperation through this process.  I, for one, will be following (and have been) your blogs and your careers for a long time to come!

To everybody else, don’t forget to welcome Avily to NAF and check out the info on her book!  She’ll begin blogging just as soon as I get everything setup with her and WordPress!  Be on the look out!

About Keven Newsome

Keven Newsome is a child of God, husband, father, and friend, in that order. He’s also a novelist, musician, and sometimes artist. He has an MA in Theology, specializing in supernatural theology, from the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary. His debut novel Winter was a finalist for the Compton Crook Awards and the Grace Awards. His other works include Prophetess, the sequel to Winter; three contributing stories in the Aquasynthesis anthology; and a contributing micro-story in the Avenir Eclectia anthology. Keven is the founder of The New Authors’ Fellowship and produces music and video through Newsome Creative.

18 comments on “Please Welcome Our Newest Member

  1. INVISIBLE INK??!! Arghh….sneaky, sneaky.

    Congrats, Avily!!!

  2. Congrats, Avily! I voted for Dying for Dragons. I look forward to reading more about you and your writing journey in the future. Especially what’s going on with your book (wink, wink, nudge, nudge).

  3. YAY!!!!!!

    I’m so excited to be a part of this blog!!! As some of you know, Keven approached me about joining this blog back when he first started it, but at the time I had too much else on my plate with homeschooling and writing and other things. This year my hubby and I have decided to put our kids in private school–a long and difficult decision which will probably be the subject of my first blog post–and I am anticipating having the time to take the next step in my writing, one aspect of which is being part of this TOTALLY AWESOME blog!!!

    I have to say I really enjoyed reading the comments after Keven’s teaser. Such fun to be in the inside scoop! I’m really excited to be here!

    Thanks to everyone who voted for me, and thanks for welcoming me to join you all! I look forward to taking our next steps together!

    And apparently I use a lot of exclamation marks! Wow! Apparently I’m excited! Thanks again, all!

    • Congratulations, Avily! Glad to have you on board for sure! Now I know this blog is complete. Your personality has always shined forth in the past on Facebook, so now we get even more of an “inside scoop” on what makes you tick. Welcome aboard! And watch your step! Anvils can poke out of the oddest places around here. :twisted:

  4. Haha…Are you talking to me? I know you are talking to me. Hehe! This was great fun, Keven. My partner in crime and I had too much fun with it. We went WAY overboard in our speculation. Kind of like the kid that fails the SAT because he/she over thought it.

    Welcome, Avily! Glad to have you here. :D

  5. Welcome, Avily! I look forward to get to know you better through your posts.

  6. Oh, Keven, you talk out of both sides of your mouth. :)

    On this blog entry you say, “Clue? Nay… I said the ANSWER was in the post!”

    But on the very first comment on the other entry where we have the first hint that we can find something on the original entry, you say, “I see no one’s discovered the clue yet.”

    And throughout the other comments there, you don’t say anything of the sort of the “answer” being “in the post”. Of course, you said that to me in chat, which was how I finally figured it out, but that doesn’t count for everyone else, now does it? :twisted:

  7. Welcome Avily! I hope you enjoy blogging here. I look forward to reading your posts. Oh, and watch out for the anvils. David has a secret stash he prepared earlier and he isn’t afraid to use them.

    Btw. I only found the hidden text with your name because I did exactly the same thing by accident yesterday morning on my own site :P So it was basically dumb luck :-)

  8. It has come to my attention that those members who used passive-aggressive coercion techniques to try to discover the answer, and who applied all of their over-thinking skills in making complex clues and puzzles that weren’t there, those two individuals have claimed to have figured it out in the eleventh hour and discovered the answer.

    Of course, I had already prewritten this second blog and did not include their names. So with that, I would like to also congratulate David and Diane for their tireless efforts which led to their eventual discovery of the answer!

  9. Welcome to the team Avily! :) I’m looking forward to seeing your first post.

  10. Shiny, Avily! Congratulations on your selection. As a Firefly Fan I hope you caught the Halloween Castle episode where Nathan tried to use his Mal costume for a party.

  11. Dennis,

    I did indeed!!! Almost wondered if I was watching the right show at first, and then about died laughing when I realized what was going on. I especially loved the conversation with his daughter:

    “Dad, what are you supposed to be?”
    “I’m a space cowboy.”
    “There are no cows in space. Anyway, didn’t you wear that like three years ago?”
    “I like it!”

Comments are closed.

