20 Comments

Eric Wilson – defeated? The ramifications and what we should do.

Eric Wilson

Eric Wilson

Last Friday author Eric Wilson created a flurry of responses on his Facebook Wall and spawned at least two blog entries about it that I am aware of (not including this one) because of a blog entry he put on his site.

According to Mike Duran, in an entry he put here, he confirmed what I was surmising from the entry, but that no one was talking about on Eric’s Wall until I asked it and wasn’t replied to, and that is Eric Wilson is stopping his writing of fiction for the Christian market through the CBA and similar channels. In the comments section of Mike’s entry, Eric commented a few times and he didn’t dissuade people from this, so it must be true.

As a person who has been reading Eric’s books for the past almost two years now and has been immensely enjoying them, and has even likened him to the next step in things after Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker, I am deeply saddened that it has come to this for him. I do hope that he can find a way to do more books, and even if he has to do them in the mainstream market as some other authors have done, I wish him the best on things.

But with this, and the points he brings up in his entry, what does that have to say for those of us still unpublished that are on the fringe of things when it comes to what is called “Christian fiction”? This directly affects those of us among this joint blog as well as those who we seek to encourage with it.

Marcher Lord Press

Marcher Lord Press

Splashdown Books

We see publishers like Marcher Lord Press and Splashdown Books coming on the scene and rejoice at the chance of publication, yet are even these publishers reaching who the authors want to reach? Sales are being made, award nominations are occurring, and even awards are being won, but is the readership expanding? Is the content being accepted? Are the people outside of the ones who really, really, really like this sort of thing even taking notice? If the industry is still so stringent that it causes someone like Eric Wilson to step away, what’s going to happen when a very controversial book comes on the scene through an independent publisher?

I know with conversations I’ve had with some of the authors in this joint blog that they keep running into obstacles even among the places we would think we’d have a better shot at things at. Diane’s rejection from Jeff, even with explanation, for I Am Ocilla. Keven’s ongoing quest to find the right place to publish Winter, a book that just doesn’t fit with the “norm” for Christian publishing. And the others on here such as myself that struggle to even finish the damn novel that we’re trying to write. We’re tickled that Paul found a publisher with Grace, and I certainly wish him the best from it, but until we really get focused and make an impact as a group of people, I’m not sure how well these small presses are going to do in the long run to change things. My fear is that even if they don’t get bought out later by the bigger companies, that the “peer pressure” of acceptance with the CBA market will occur and more and more items will wind up leaning more towards the way of the CBA instead of the edgy way that they should lean.

I commented something on one of Mike Duran’s entries on his own blog which is not the same as the above link, and I’ll reiterate it here:

Jesus

Why is it that we even have to live in fear of the CBA anyway? Why does IT have to be the standard? Our standard is JESUS and THE BIBLE. The Living Word of God and The Written Word of God. Our standard is the Word. If we truly believe this, then why don’t we just throw off the shackles of what worked in the past, and get rid of the old wineskins, and put this new wine into new wineskins. We have at least two publishers of P.O.D. that I’ve mentioned. Why not more? I know that there are some others out there trying to get going, and some that deal with other things than just Christian stuff. And why not have new bookstores – online and physical – that people can go into that is tailored to this? That’s what I’ve been trying to work toward for over two years now with Beyond the Charts and have had the website live for almost a full year now. I recently had to close down the online store part leaving the blog and the message board active mainly because of all the hassles I’ve had with the shopping cart and losing an unknown number of potential orders. I intend to reopen it sometime around the beginning of the year next year. But until then, I want to do more to work on toward that reopening.

This isn’t the entry I’ll announce something, but I do have something I’ll be announcing soon that goes with the spirit of what I’m saying here.

So, if we can have online stores and physical stores, and new publishing companies, and whatnot, why can’t we just concentrate on stopping the money going to the CBA and redirecting our funds to these newer models, and why not start something that can bring the change we all desire? I hear so many excuses from people all the time about this, but if WE don’t make the change, how can you seriously expect others to? Change is happening right now, and what we decide on will determine if that change is for the good as things move at a greater rate toward what we all want, or for the bad if we do as little as possible and it either fizzles out or gets sucked in by what we don’t like. This isn’t about US vs. THEM, but rather US letting THEM continue on the path that they’ve chosen and are adherent to, and US choosing not to go the same path as THEM, and wishing THEM the best as they continue on it, for our path involves swords and laser pistols and ghosts and stronger themes with darker characters, and theirs doesn’t.

And that’s okay.

But what’s NOT okay is if we let our direction be determined by the ones who are clearly not going the same way that we are going. It doesn’t mean we aren’t brothers and sisters in the Lord, but just as you don’t see Charles Stanley entering the local goth clubs of Atlanta, you do see other people entering them – if you take the time to notice – and doing inner ministry that way. Can the hand tell the liver how to operate? The hand can be washed with soap and water and stay looking nice and clean, while the liver has to stay in a dark place and do dirty deeds, yet both are essential to the function of a healthy body.

Stryper

In Eric’s entry, he mentions the waves of Christian music history. I’ll take things a step further for you. In the late eighties/early nineties there was a movement of harder edge stuff that was harder than even Stryper (which I’m sure most of you remember, as well as the controversy that seemed to always follow them). A label called Frontline started a sub-label called Intense Records and started producing bands with a thrash sound, goth sound, “death” metal sound that was later dubbed “life” metal, and other harder bands of the same kind. Certain names come to mind that you can Google if you wish: Mortification, Tourniquet, Deliverance, and others. But one band that I’ve always admired was Saviour Machine.

Eric Clayton

Eric Clayton

Saviour Machine is the band project of Eric Clayton, and he wore white theatrical make-up on his head and dark clothes (with later performances occasionally donning a white garment) and sang with a deep voice. After producing one album and being given what amounted to the red carpet treatment, they were put on tour with another band I shall not name in this entry, but the facts are out there if you wish to look them up. They were opening for this band and they were a five piece band opening for a three piece band. Things were getting rocky anyway on the tour as people were leaving the concerts when the acts changed, and by the time they arrived to a certain city up north, things weren’t going to get any better. A certain “Christian” organization that was sponsoring the concert, literally pulled the plug on Eric and the band while they were starting another song, and while Eric tried hard to keep the crowd calm, with no active mic he wasn’t heard by many and a near riot started. After being taken off stage, the band saw the lead singer of the other band being “forced” to apologize for the first band or else they couldn’t play either. After being handed money, Eric and his band were pretty much booted out.

Eric Clayton

Eric Clayton

The rest of the tour didn’t happen, and because of a special contract Eric had formed with Frontline, they HAD to produce another album for the band, but they didn’t give them good conditions to do it with. Once the album was done, some other things happened to let them keep recording outside of the U.S., and that’s another story from there. You can get a copy of The Collective Journals of Eric Clayton if you want to read more about what happened by visiting the Saviour Machine website and ordering. Limited quantities are left, so if you think you want one, I suggest ordering now. The language does get rough sometimes with it, so know that. Suffice it to say that Eric Clayton is a real champion of the Faith for all he’s gone through.

The point of that story is that edgy stuff has never worked in the “establishment”, whether that’s churches, record labels, or the CBA. They may let some things go, but when it gets really challenging, they don’t want to touch it. In my own life I know this, because I just don’t care what people think of me, I’ll defend the Gospel of Jesus, and if I am wrong, I can receive correction, but when I’m right, I’ll not back down. Unfortunately, this means that some churches don’t want me back. Some churches haven’t gone that far, but it’s clear that if I am to be at their church, I have to do things their way, which unfortunately isn’t God’s way and I have a real problem with having to choose someone else over Him that died for me. In other areas they may be right on target, but when they aren’t being reasonable and expect me to bend over to them, I don’t have to be told I’m being kicked out, I just leave.

This has of course caused me to not have a regular church home over the years, yet my relationship with God is stronger for it. It’s like a shirt that Jay Bakker’s Revolution ministry once had “Jesus died for you, not Christianity” or something similar.

Maybe you’ll read this and it will just seem like a pointless rant of a rebellious person to you. Guess what? I don’t care. I’m just tired of seeing the Body of Christ crucify their own for stepping outside the so-called “norm” of things to actually reach a lost and dying world with the message of Jesus. I am so heart broken that Eric Wilson feels that he can’t operate any more within the current Christian market of novels. This is a shame and a travesty and SHOULD NOT be taking place! We should be more open than that!

Let’s make a change! Let’s keep bringing more and more small publishers out there! Let’s open new doors with new stores to sell the books and music that we know are also of God and not restrict them to an area where you have to really be searching to find them! Let’s include any mainstream things that we have liked in the past that God has used to tell us something as well! Let’s not be afraid to mingle with the World as we are “in the World, but not of it”!

If we don’t do this now, then when?

You now know the stories of two Eric’s, one was rejected by the establishment for his lyrics and artistic ways of performing on stage, the other is walking away because his own prose and artistic ways of handling a novel has been stifled by the establishment. And then my own story of things I’ve had to deal with when it came to those that sort of cause the establishment to be in existence to begin with and support it in all ways no matter who it hurts. How many more have to endure pain and suffering at the hands of our brothers before action is taken?

About David James

David James is a man of many attributes: He's a believer in Jesus as the Christ. He's a family man with a wife and two children. He's an entrepreneur with a fledgling business called Beyond the Charts, an Independent Marketer with The Trump Network, a writer of a novel and member of The New Authors Fellowship. He's a listener of heavy metal with techno, goth, and industrial sounds preferred. He doesn't listen to "Christian radio" and can't stand most "Praise and Worship" music because it comes across so staged and more for entertainment than worship, but he loves the worship coming out of MorningStar Ministries because of the raw intensity of it. He loves scary movies whether it's a creepy ghost story or an intense slasher film, as well as strange humor films, and just loves the spoof films that have come out over the past decade. He thinks Kevin Smith films are very funny, but doesn't care for it when they speak bad of Jesus. His favorite novelist of all time is Stephen King. His favorite sci-fi novelist is Kevin J. Anderson. Other novelists he enjoys are too numerous to mention here. For Spiritual reading he turns to Billy Graham, Mike Murdock, Rick Joyner, John Bunyan, and R.A. Torrey. He enjoys financial and self-help books ranging from Dale Carnegie to Zig Ziglar to Donald Trump to Robert Kiyosaki. The one thing that irritates him is when people don't show respect, yet want respect from those they don't show it to.

20 comments on “Eric Wilson – defeated? The ramifications and what we should do.

  1. First up, thanks for the shout out! And thanks for this very thoughtful article. I too am very sad that Eric Wilson appears to be giving up on the CBA, but am hopeful that he can gain new ground in moving out to secular publishing if indeed that is his plan. I am certainly not the CBA’s greatest fan, however, they have still managed to publish a great deal of quality fiction, even in our genres. It could be that these publishers are at somewhat of a loss as to how exactly to market the speculative stuff, since it may not necessarily appeal to their core demographic.

    As to predicting the future output of small presses, let me just say that my press will put out books that I love, period. I’m still running a one-woman show over here and as long as that’s the case, the selection of manuscripts will rely on my personal preferences only – not peer pressure of any description. Anyone who reads my blog knows I’m allergic to pressure. It won’t work on me. I don’t particularly care what the CBA thinks, although their preferences and mine do certainly overlap to some extent.

    I started this press to make a difference in the scene, to give a chance to stories that would otherwise languish in unpubbed territory. It’s a small chance, I grant you; requiring a lot of support from the authors and friends of Splashdown in order to, well, make a splash. However, I’m a firm believer that a good book will rise to the top eventually, no matter the effort expended on marketing.

    So guys, keep on writing. Keep on learning, be the best you can be, and don’t obsess with marketing or popularity. Write good books, and they WILL go far – yes, even if you end up self-publishing them. With the right quality controls and good design work, self-publishing can be very rewarding.

    Of course, I’d rather you published with me, if you meet my personal standard :) Definitely need some more titles for next year, so keep your ear to the ground!

    • Thanks, Grace. You’re definitely one of the ones I’m certain will make a difference somehow in all of this commotion. I wish you much success in your search for titles next year. :D

  2. A couple points come to mind with this, David. First off, I’m fairly certain that Eric has been a published author for more than a couple years. The copy of Expiration Date on my shelf was published in 2005, so that’s at least five years right there. So he’s had some time to work, watch progress and prayerfully consider. I’m sure whatever decision he makes will be fully in God’s will and the best one for his family.

    Another thought is that the market I write for, and that Grace (and to some extent Eric) writes for is at this point in our history a bit closed. Meaning, that while there are some great novels available–novels that would appeal to a broader audience–the only people that are really talking about them, blogging about them, and commenting on them are, in general, the same group of people. There needs to be some growth events (and further word-of-mouth) to push them out of that closed space and into the general population. There needs to be more buzz.

    That said, I think revolutions take time. More time than we’ve currently had. Considering Marcher Lord Press has only been in existence for a couple years (and Splashdown, as well) there needs to be more time for the amazing things that have happened (and are happening now) to take root and multiply. Right now, we’re still feeding the same group of people, and arguably not even all of them, but given enough time–a contest win here, a big author signing there, good reviews, etc–I think the sales and recognition will come.

    Short answer: the people that love these things need to be supporting them. Spread the news, buy the books, and encourage those that produce them.

    • I agree, Kerry. I know my facebook friends get tired of seeing my feed. I am constantly posting a link but to me that is my part. I know that even if an author is published and even well recognized, he/she is not necessarily rolling in the dough. They need our support and encouragement as much as we need their great stories.

      BTW, I am seriously considering sending my copy of A Star Curiously Singing to Beck or Hannity. :D

      • Yes, new authors need extra support (I mean, if you love their stories) because it is hard to make a sale if you’re a relative unknown. As an author you’re asking alot of people to a) trust you to entertain them and b) trust you enough to part with their hard-earned dough for the experience. It is a tough hurdle to get over for a new author.

        It is a reasonable state of mind on the consumers’ part, of course. There are rarely any returns with books. So if I don’t like what an author has to say, I just got jipped out of a few hours of my life, AND the money the book cost me. So why take the risk? Well, a few good reviews might do it, or the recommendation of a friend…but probably little else.

        As for sending my book to someone, hey, something like that will carry a lot more weight coming from someone who reads a book and loves it, than from the author or his publisher. Send away!

    • Kerry,

      Perhaps you misunderstood me, or maybe I didn’t make it clear enough. The couple of years I’ve been reading Eric Wilson wasn’t to indicate how long he’s been in print, but rather how long I’ve been reading him. I had seen his first book when it came out on the shelves of Borders. I think that was 2004. But I was being very careful then who I picked up in the Christian arena with such limited funds available to me, and having been burned before, I decided not to get that book even though I liked the cover and the description on the back seemed okay. When Field of Blood came out, I knew I’d want to read it, and I loved it so much I went to Amazon and got his other books and have been reading through his stuff now for almost two years and haven’t read one yet that I didn’t think was the work of a great writer.

      And the rest of what you’re saying is exactly what I’m talking about, that we need to increase our efforts, not decrease, so I think we’re on the same page there. :)

      Be encouraged,

      David

  3. David, thanks for fighting for those on the fringes. No, I am not defeated. Yes, it feels lonely when you try to leave the bunker and sneak out into enemy territory. It seems many believers would rather stay huddled in “safety.”

    I went to a Stryper concert in 1984, which was picketed by local churches. I wanted to know for myself what they believed and stood for. In the line out front, we met an old couple. I asked if they knew which band they were in line for. “Oh, yes,” they said. “Timmy, the bass player, is our grandson. We can’t really hear what they are playing, but they love Jesus and we love to support him.” It was a great show, with Stryper really laying out the gospel and throwing out New Testaments for all those who “don’t know Jesus as your savior yet.”

    A week later, I went to a Michael W. Smith show. It was full of preppy youth group kids. It was endorsed by local churches and Christian radio stations. He quoted a psalm from memory, but said nothing else about the Lord except through the lyrics. That was fine, and to this day he has proven himself a man of God–I have immense respect for him and his family–but he was in a warm, accepting environment full of other Christians.

    The contrast between those two concerts underlined the things I would face if I tried to step out of the “safe” entertainment and try to reach the hurting, the lost, the depressed, and the dying outside the walls of the church. But that is where I saw Jesus go, in the Gospels–and He is the one I choose to follow.

    Eric

    • You’re quite welcome, Eric.

      And thank you for doing what you’ve been doing for the past several years. I do look forward to whatever you decide to do in the future, and I hope that as you get published in the more mainstream markets that the people that need to be reached find your stories and that God can do something in their lives.

      I was never able to go to a Stryper concert, but I do know that they put on a great show back then. Of course, they apparently do now too. Just different from what came before. ;) And I’m with you on Michael W. Smith. I’m not a big fan of the current “praise and worship” stuff out there, but he was someone who was able to make the transition very organically as he had always had praiseworthy songs on his albums from the beginning. My wife and I both just love that song he does about “Healing Rain”.

      So stay strong, Eric! You’ll do fine I’m sure as long as you stay true to your calling. I’ll keep you in prayer.

      Be encouraged,

      David

    • I have a lot of love for Stryper :) “To Hell with the Devil” has got some mad vocals in it :p I remember when my pastor as a kid said they were of the devil, ha ha.

  4. Although I’m not old enough to have been around to recognize most of the bands you listed, I have listened to a decent amount of Christian metal and even Christian ‘death metal’. You know, back when I was a confused teen trying to find myself. For all the fuss that’s made about it in mainstream Christianity, I was attracted at the time to sheer, brutal honesty of it. It’s funny because, even today, I find most popular Christian music to be oddly pretentious or at the very least sugar coated – Michael W. Smith being a rare exception. At least Demon Hunter and Becoming the Archetype admitted that life isn’t all rainbows and candy.

    These days I find most metal is a bit too loud for me, but I still listen to some Skillet and my brother recently discovered a guy called Brian ‘Head’ Welch, who actually used to be a member of Korn. His music is loud, and heavy, but he isn’t afraid to speak about the faith, a trait that seems to be lost on a lot of the more popular Christian music. It seems we’re so concerned about being safe and subtle around non-believers that we loose the plot. Might as well listen to clean secular music.

  5. In some ways, I think we’re missing the boat here. It isn’t just the problem of the CBA being narrow. The whole darn business is pieced out into little pigeon holes — CBA and ABA both. I’m convinced that if he was writing today, JRR Tolkien (Lord of the Rings) would not be published by either the CBA OR the ABA.

    It isn’t as if the secular market is just sitting there waiting for our stuff. In their own way, the seem to me to be as rigid.

    It’s time for authors with passion to forge new paths and find new ways to get our stuff out there, in spite of the fact that the business as a whole (both CBA and ABA) publishes fewer and fewer titles each year, with less and less diversity.

    • Excellent points, Pastor Tom. I think you’re quite correct about Tolkien. He would be too religious for the ABA and not enough for the CBA. He’d have to forge his own path, and the world would miss out on some great literature.

      This is exactly why I am thinking that we all need to keep doing what we’re doing, but with greater numbers and a greater frequency, and if we keep doing this, we can grow to the point where we can fully (not partially) operate outside of the CBA or the ABA and just do our own thing.

      • btw, I think that no one would publish Tolkien’s book as they are in today’s market for far more significant reasons than religion. The vast majority of today’s readers are different from his original target market. Even with the movies and the rave followings, tons of people don’t make it past the first 30 pages. Without all that validation assuring them that the book is worth it…

        Don’t get me wrong – I have read and loved the books, but how many of LotR fans HAVE actually read the whole series? However, it’s not the plot or storyline. If he completely rewrote it for the average reader, it would sell then – we have ample proof of that in the fantasy market. And no, I don’t think it would be deemed too religious at all. Maybe a little cliche – but that’s only because he FATHERED those cliches that others have used over and over.

        But I agree with Pastor Tom – it’s a bunch of pigeon holes. Christian Fiction – particularly Christian Spec – IS a bunch of scattered pigeon holes. We are misfits – that is our strength and likely weakness of any “unity”, in my opinion. I’m certainly not intimidated by being a misfit.

        I wouldn’t panic quite yet. The statistics of our six month blog isn’t much to judge by. Haven’t read Winter yet, but Ocila has some work needed, but Diane will get there. Personally I know why I’m not currently published but it has nothing to do with the biasness of the market or publishers.

        I’m a firm believer of there’s always room on the top. As Grace said, spreading the word is great, but focusing on creating the best stories we can and refining our own skills are the best thing to focus on.

        That’s my two cents anyway.

  6. Things were getting rocky anyway on the tour as people were leaving the concerts when the acts changed, and by the time they arrived to a certain city up north, things weren’t going to get any better. A certain “Christian” organization that was sponsoring the concert, literally pulled the plug on Eric and the band while they were starting another song, and while Eric tried hard to keep the crowd calm, with no active mic he wasn’t heard by many and a near riot started. After being taken off stage, the band saw the lead singer of the other band being “forced” to apologize for the first band or else they couldn’t play either. After being handed money, Eric and his band were pretty much booted out.

    That sounds very similar to something I heard on the radio (RIch Buhler’s “Talk from the Heart”, KBRT-AM, circa mid-1980s) about a pioneering Christian metal band whose performance literally started a riot when the audience got the idea they were demon-possessed and mobbed the stage. The similarity was the mike going dead, after which the band literally had to run for it. Some of them didn’t make it to the getaway van backstage and got literally beaten with Bibles by Christians screaming in tongues in some sort of weird attempt at exorcism. The story was it pretty much killed the band once the Christian gossip about the “Gospel Altamont” (my personal term) started getting spread around. Though I don’t remember the concert promoters being involved in persecuting the band, and this probably would have happened in the Burgess Shale period of CCM back in the late Seventies/early Eighties.

    • If what you heard about happened in the 80′s, then it must be a different band. This happened in the early 90′s and I don’t remember anything about people chasing Saviour Machine out of there while screaming in tongues or beating them with Bibles, but if that took place with them I may have forgotten that part. What I do remember is that a lot of the people from the concert met with Eric later at a nearby restaurant – a White Castle if I recall correctly – and Eric took a lot of personal time with the fans just talking about whatever. And since then Saviour Machine has been able to put out other albums and if you go to the website, you can download the entire collection for a nice price considering the amount of music you’ll be getting. So since you said it killed the band, I am further thinking that it must be a different band. I hope they were able to move on to better musical things in life. Thanks for the comment! :)

  7. Great blog, David!

    I’ve only been in the publishing game as an author for a year, but I have heard nonstop complaints about the CBA from the get-go. I have met dozens of authors who have become disenchanted with them and I agree with them on all points. I support Eric wholeheartedly. The CBA may have started out with the ‘right intentions’, but we can all see where a cancer has grown in that machine.

    God will show Eric other venues, because He gave that man a calling to give us great, thought-provoking and inspiring fiction!!

  8. Hi David, Love this blog!! I question if my my edgy YA fantasy novel will ever make it in the Christian publishing world and I wonder if I will have to go secular publisher. I for one get so sick and tired of all the softy stuff out there in the christian novels. Give me some grit!! If CBA decides not to accept edgy stuff, then they might have to go out of business especially when writers like me turn to the secular guys. It’s a shame.

    • I don’t think they’ll ever go out of business because there are always plenty of people that want the buggy and bonnett books and the romance stories and whatnot. But what we need is for those of us that enjoy things other than that to continue to publish our books elsewhere when turned down by the CBA and to do the extra work to market ourselves better. It’s a matter of doing the business ourselves.

      And this problem isn’t just in the Christian publishing, but also in mainstream. There’s a lot of authors out there that are having to market themselves and are turning to publishing their own books if they were already well known enough, or going with small presses if they aren’t well known enough.

      We just need to realize we live in a different day and age and have alternatives now that those in the past didn’t have. And all that means is that whether we go through a small press publisher or publish it ourselves that whatever we write needs to be of the highest quality because we will have that much more of a climb to make having to pretty much wholly depend on word-of-mouth advertising to bring our books to the “top”.

      As we continue moving forward this way, and as others operating in other ways (agents, store owners, publishers, etc.) continue doing that and things begin to connect, we’ll have a change in things and be able to completely operate outside of the CBA. Then it will just be a matter of making sure that whatever gets set up alongside the CBA isn’t as restrictive in other ways as the CBA is. Time will tell.

  9. Thanks for the blog post David, I guess I’m a bit late to the news.

    Not having read anything beyond the sample of Field of Blood I just picked up for my kindle today (and enjoyed), I’m not sure what Eric has done in his writing that has turned CBA off. I’m not sure what restrictions the CBA or ABA are placing on us either.

    This topic has piqued my interest in the audience I’m writing for because I don’t know if I fit in the CBA or secular markets. I write Fantasy and Science Fiction, but am not published yet because I’m still editing my first book and have 20k left in the first draft of my second. I don’t have swearing or sex, but I do mention God and in my first book people get saved. I’ve backed off quite a bit on my second book and made God more of the background so it’s not preaching. What do you mean exactly when you say “edgy”? I still haven’t found justification for swearing, but there are graphic images in the Bible, so if that makes me half-edgy, am I out of consideration with the CBA or ABA?

    All that being said, I agree with the posts to just write what you want the best you can. I also agree with David that there are ways to promote ourselves that haven’t existed even as recently as Eric’s career. I mean, there was Facebook and Twitter, but it’s still catching on, and now we have e-books and podcasts.

    I’m glad to have found this blog and more new authors dealing with the same issues. I’m doing my part to promote new Christian authors. I am a part of Holy Worlds, a F/SF writers group soon to put out a podcast for Christian authors. I have a website and a writing podcast, AudioTim. I’m always up for meeting and reading new authors, so it’s good to meet all of you. I look forward to getting better acquainted. God bless in your writing and walks with Him.

Leave a Reply

